arduino software sketches without arduino hardware

hello,

I am a newbie in avr series microcontrollers. I am learning how to write code & burn microcontroller via avrstudio & usbasp serial programmer. I want to learn the arduino language to upload my own sketches to atmega8 & use it in specific boards for embedded projects. I have the arduino software & a usbasp serial burner(6pins)

is there any way to upload sketches directly to the atmega8 via the usbasp? or is there any way to get the arduino software generated hex file, so that I can burn it via extremeburner & usbasp?

kindly help.

yes you can change boards.txt for your MCU to use AVRISP or USBASP to upload direct from the IDE or the hex file is usually stuffed away in a temp folder somewhere

exactly where is dependent on your OS

Thanks for your response. will you kindly explain the steps...
I have already viewed the pages but they either use an arduino board or a boot-loader preloaded atmega chip. so they are of no help to me. :frowning:

http://tutorial.cytron.com.my/2011/09/30/how-to-program-arduino-by-using-avr-usbasp-programmer/

I have a fresh atmega8 chip (I can get an atmega328 if needed), usbasp, arduino software1.0.3 & a will to learn the arduino language.

well if you want to just upload through the IDE what you would do is find the boards.txt file (on my computer its under C:\Users\user\Desktop\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino)

edit it with something like notepad ++ or wordpad if your in the windows world, finding a section that looks like

##############################################################

atmega8.name=Arduino NG or older w/ ATmega8

atmega8.upload.protocol=arduino
atmega8.upload.maximum_size=7168
atmega8.upload.speed=19200

atmega8.bootloader.low_fuses=0xdf
atmega8.bootloader.high_fuses=0xca
atmega8.bootloader.path=atmega8
atmega8.bootloader.file=ATmegaBOOT.hex
atmega8.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
atmega8.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F

atmega8.build.mcu=atmega8