Code for controlling Arduino Ethernet over web

I want to be able to control my arduino ethernet over the web by a computer not on my home network and I want to be able to perform a simple task of just turning on pin 7 or 8... I followed a code out of a book and was unsuccessful. If anyone knows the code to perform this could you please break down the setting up of the byte ip, subnet, gateway... I don't mean to sound like a retard here but I am new to the arduino ethernet. I have a website and my intent is to control my arduino ethernet on a page on my website. Please Help!

well, you could use a VPN or Virtual Private Network. This would enable you to act like you are in your network but not. So, you could control your arduino using your phone, computer, or more because it would allow you to send packets to your arduino.

The Arduino can act as a server, serving up a page, or it can act as a client, making requests of servers. Which do you want?

It sounds like you already have a server, and want the Arduino to ask it for information periodically. That is not typically the way to control an Arduino over the internet.

Basically I want to use a page on my website to control the arduino ethernet so that I can control when certain pins are on and off which in turn controls certain lights in my house. Of course i'll have to hook up relays and some other things but my main issue is how to accomplish the task of controlling pins over the internet.

Basically I want to use a page on my website to control the arduino ethernet

Far simpler to have the Arduino serve up the page.

You could, I suppose, have your server serve up the page containing a form with submit buttons, and then have the action be the Arduino, but that's harder to implement, since a redirect is required to get back then to the original page.