controlling arduino by ios device wirelessly

Hi all,

i am new to arduino world with some knowledge in general programming

the idea is to produce a commercial device that is controlled by any iphone or ipad

i think json library is used for this approach but i dont have a clue in doing it

i also want to know if there is another more practical way rather than using wifi shield that connects to home router or lets the user turn on iphones wifi to connect to arduino (may not be desirable by users)

thank u for any attempt to help

If the WiFi shield is too expensive you might want to look into Bluetooth. This example is for Arduino phones but it shouldn't be too hard to port to IOS.

The HC-05 Bluetooth boards seem to run about $7 on eBay.

johnwasser:
If the WiFi shield is too expensive you might want to look into Bluetooth. This example is for Arduino phones but it shouldn't be too hard to port to IOS.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Andruino-A-Simple-2-Way-Bluetooth-based-Android-C/

The HC-05 Bluetooth boards seem to run about $7 on eBay.

thank you for your help sir

however the bluetooth is less practical as for regular usage it needs the bluetooth to be working all the time which i personally do not prefer

i need some help on establishing this

i need an arduino board to connect by usb to android device and this device uses it's wifi as ad hoc connection to connect to a server that the iphone is connection to as well

so in this case we have different types of connection

iphone -output &input / arduino- output & input / android - output & input

all of them are connecting to the same web server to have the same data over multiple devices

sounds hard but i need your help please

You don't need a WiFi shield to do WiFi with an Arduino.
A working set-up is for example an Ardino UNO equipped with an official Ethernet shield ( more specifically with a W5100 Ethernet chip) and a little pocket route connected to the Ethenrnet shield.