Arduino Uno R3 - avrdude:stk500_getsync() : not in sync : resp=0x00

Good evening all,

I am quite new to Arduino and have just bought the UNO R3 yesterday. Please do accept my apologies in advance if this is a common problem. I have started playing with the board and was not even once able to connect it successfully to my notebook. The error I got was as above.

My settings are as follows :
(a) Host operating systems : Windows 7 Enterprise on a HP 6450B Notebook ( have also tested on a Windows 7 Home Premium Toshiba Satellite C640 )
(b) Arduino IDE 1.0.5
(c) Connecting to the PC with the USB cable and using this to power the arduino board as well

What I have tested :
(a) I have tested and confirmed that the correct board is selected in the arduino IDE i.e. Arduino UNO
(b) I have changed the driver to arduino.inf located within the \hardware directory
(c) Performed the loopback test. As Windows 7 do not have the hyperterminal software, I used putty. When I typed something on the notebook, I could notice that the RX LED
lights up - thus believe the board is working
(d) Have ensured that everytime before I upload from the notebook to the board, I reset the board first
(e) I have also played around with many different serial COM ports

All have failed. Can someone be kind enought to offer perhaps some additional advice on what to check for ?

Thank you very much.

Hello,

when you have connected the serial pins (digital pins 0 and 1, also named as TX and RX) try to interchange the two wires (RX ---> TX and TX ---> RX). Normally it should work then.

Best regards

Elektrix

Good morning Elektrix,

Firstly thank you so much for responding.