Building an addressable LED strand with WS2801 (custom pcb)

Hello All,

I am working on a project to build an arduino controlled strand of 90 Monochrome addressable (and dimmable) 'pixels', each pixel is made up of 6 x smd 5630 Leds, all controlled by a WS2801. I think I know how to do it now but as I am not very experienced I could really do with some advice.
I want to achieve something very much like this: 36mm Square 12V Digital RGB LED Pixels (Strand of 20) [WS2801] : ID 683 : $64.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits but after much research I have realized that the only real way to achieve this is to build the pcb's myself.
I have bought some stuff to build pcbs using copper clad board but now I need to build a schematic of the board, this is something that I have not done before but the circuit should be simple enough.
I basically want to recreate this: 36mm Square 12V Digital RGB LED Pixels (Strand of 20) [WS2801] : ID 683 : $64.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits but with the more powerful 5630 white leds. I have bought 300 leds all laid out on a tape ( http://www.miniinthebox.com/5m-6w-5630-smd-300-led-white-light-strip-lamp-dc-12v_p398471.html ),
I was hoping to cut the led stip into groups of 6 leds and have each group controlled by a ws2801 chip.
Maybe I could just adapt the schematic for this a bit? SparkFun RGB LED Breakout - WS2812B - BOB-13282 - SparkFun Electronics Schematic: http://dlnmh9ip6v2uc.cloudfront.net/datasheets/BreakoutBoards/WS2801-Breakout-v11.pdf
I guess my main concern is that the power usage of the 6 smd leds will be greater than the single rgb led so I would have to isolate the chip from the higher powered leds?
I have been trying to solve this for a while but I am just not that experienced with this stuff so I am struggling to make progress, any help will be greatly appreciated!!
Best

Jules

O.k, I may be complicating this a bit.