Light sensor to control DC motor

Hi,
Im new to Arduino and electronics, Im doing a project for college using an arduino uno.

What Im trying to do is to automatically control a motor when light is sensed and when light is not sensed. So when light is sensed, the motor rotates forward and reverses when light is absent.

Im using an LRD to detect the presence of light. I have attached a diagram of my circuit. Im not sure if its right. I was able to turn on and off a led by covering/not covering the LDR. I have PIN 2 as a digital read. When I was monitoring this I noticed when the LED was on i.e light present, the monitor was reading a 0 and when the LED was off i.e no light, the monitor was reading a 1. I thought this should be the other way round?? I then wrote a digital output to PIN 3 and if the LED was on I wanted to write out 5v and if not I wanted to write out 0v. When I connected jumper from PIN 3 to the motor and motor to ground I got nothing however I am measuring 5vs across the PIN 3 lead and ground. Why am I not getting any rotation?? I have attached the circuit diagram and my code. Can anyone help??

Rui

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(2, INPUT);
pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
int sensorValue = digitalRead(2);
Serial.println(sensorValue, DEC);

if(sensorValue == 1)
{
digitalWrite(3,HIGH)
}
else if(sensorValue == 0)
{
digitalWrite(3,LOW)
}

}

What kind of file is a .fzz ? Will most people have or even know what software will work with that file?

Lefty

Yeah, hard to say without a circuit.
Retrolefty, just you and me manning the fort tonight? :slight_smile:

Hi,

thanks for the replies. I used the http://fritzing.org/ site to do up the circuit diagram. I thought because it was used on the arduino site that it would be recognised by other users.

Heres a screen shot of the diagram.