Arduino to Raspberry Pi communication options

been messing around with my arduinos for a few months, and i'm trying to think out a my next project using communication

Setup:
2 arduinos to communicate to 1 raspberry pi
one arduino will be right next to the pi, the other will be 10-20 feet away from it.
I would plan to connect using Cat5e

Data rate -not that much. Pi will just periodically poll for switch states on the arduinos / tell them to turn led's on.

I'm new to non-ethernet communication, I'm trying to sound out which communication standard would work the best / easiest, and looking if anyone has any recommendations

USB to Serial:
Positives: this would be ideal if i could make it work, have the arduino's connected to the pi, and then able to communicate via usb to serial. Allows me to "update firmware" by using the IDE from the pi
-Wouldn't have to worry about 5v vs 3.3
Cons: Not sure how easily compatible it is with 2 arduinos - a little bit more work playing w/ linux to recognize the ports. expandibility might be limited if i want to add more chips.
-Not sure if the USB signal would carry that far.

direct into UART on pi:
Cons: I think i'd need to "convert" the 5v to 3.3 to not blow up the pi.
Question: Can i communicate to more than one chip? is there a library for that, or do wire software to set up one as a "master" and "poll" for responses continuously from the chips.
Question: any thoughts on the signal traveling through 10-20 feet of cat5?

i2c:
Pros: Easy expandibility in software if i increase the project
Question: any thoughts on 10-20 feet of cat5?
Question: any thoughts on the signal traveling through 10-20 feet of cat5?

Xbee:
Pros: Easy expandibility in software if i increase the project
Cons: prefer not to go wireless if i don't have to, increased cost / complexity

Anything else i'm missing? i don't know what i don't know.

thanks

xbee: would prefer to not have to go wireless, but could be an option