Go Down

Topic: can't get RF sniffer to work (Read 728 times) previous topic - next topic

Gaetanodd

HI there,

I am new to Arduino and am trying to read RF signals form my remote plug switch so I can command it with Arduino.

I downloaded the RCSwitch library and samples from https://github.com/sui77/rc-switch/releases/tag/2.6.2

I am using the following Sketch:

</*
  Simple example for receiving

https://github.com/sui77/rc-switch/
*/

#include <RCSwitch.h>

RCSwitch mySwitch = RCSwitch();

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  mySwitch.enableReceive(0);  // Receiver on interrupt 0 => that is pin #2
  Serial.print("Starting to receive");
}

void loop() {
  if (mySwitch.available()) {
    Serial.print("switch available");
    int value = mySwitch.getReceivedValue();

if (value == 0) {
      Serial.print("Unknown encoding");
    } else {
      Serial.print("Received ");
      Serial.print( mySwitch.getReceivedValue() );
      Serial.print(" / ");
      Serial.print( mySwitch.getReceivedBitlength() );
      Serial.print("bit ");
      Serial.print("Protocol: ");
      Serial.println( mySwitch.getReceivedProtocol() );
    }

mySwitch.resetAvailable();

}else {
    Serial.print("switch wasn't available");
  }
}>

Initially nothing was happening at all despite the sketch loading successfully so I have inserted some Serial.print statements to the original code to understand if anything was happening at all. As it is now, the serial monitor continuously displays "switch was not available", i.e. the mySwith.available() command returns FALSE and bypasses the whole sketch.

I am not sure what this means... how is a Switch identified and detected under the RCSwitch.h file?

I have operated my car key door lock and my plug switch close to the receiver and nothing shows on the serial monitor.

I am attaching the library as well and it is installed under C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\rc-switch-2.6.2.