Debugging an application that uses the serial port

Hello everybody,
I am new to Arduino. I am working with Arduino nano under Linux Fedora 14.

In my application I need to talk to a device (an iPad, if you are interested) through the serial port, receiving commands from the device, analyzing them and replying to them from Arduino.

The problem is that this is quite hard to debug, because, if I have understood correctly, when I issue a Serial.write (or Serial.print, Serial.println) command, this has a double effect: it sends the bytes both to my device, attached to port 0, but also to the Serial Monitor (internal USB-serial port), is this correct?
So if I send a command to the Ipad, and I listen for its reply ...but if I do a Serial.print to have a look at this reply, I am also sending some garbage to the iPad (that of course is not what it is expecting to receive next). So how can I analyze (see/print/save in a file, anything!) what I have received in the serial port without sending unwanted commands back to the iPad?
I hope I have made myself clear.

I have tried using the NewSoftSerial library to do the Arduino-Ipad serial communication, and keep Arduino's true serial port only for debugging ... unfortunately NewSoftSerial does not seem to be able to properl handle the baudrate of 57600 bps that I need.

So what other alternatives do I have to debug the serial communication?
Thank you very much for any help.
A newbie.

The problem is that the USB/serial converter is, literally, plugged in to the same wires as your iPad.

When you issue a serial write command, it sends that out a wire plugged in to two devices. Both devices can also transmit to the arduino CPU, and if they both try at the exact same moment you'll get junk. If there is a delay you will get both characters but won't know which is which.

I can think of a couple things you could do:
Gat an Arduino Mega. It has four hardware serial ports.