Masters Thesis

Well it has come to that point for me when I have to do a masters thesis. My major is electronics and computer technology. The hardest part I think is coming up with the thesis statement. I am trying to come up with something to do with home automation but I can not figure out how to turn this into a thesis with quantifiable data that I can collect. If anybody has any ideas that would be greatly appreciated.

Greg

I hear a lot about the smart grid today. Between power usage information gathering, appliance scheduling to lower peak demand, and the reaction of the consumer to these things there would certainly be plenty to work with there.

I have also been considering trying to make a phased array microphone as a Senior project next year, but there is certainly enough there for a Masters Thesis as well. There was a demo of a phased array microphone that was placed at the top of a basketball arena and allowed the user to pinpoint where in the arena they wanted to listen to. This not only brings up a lot of technical topics but privacy ones as well.

jroorda:
I hear a lot about the smart grid today. Between power usage information gathering, appliance scheduling to lower peak demand, and the reaction of the consumer to these things there would certainly be plenty to work with there.

I have also been considering trying to make a phased array microphone as a Senior project next year, but there is certainly enough there for a Masters Thesis as well. There was a demo of a phased array microphone that was placed at the top of a basketball arena and allowed the user to pinpoint where in the arena they wanted to listen to. This not only brings up a lot of technical topics but privacy ones as well.