LED and MP3 Project For Scoreboard

Hello. I'm new to Arduino but became interested after reading on a table hockey board about its use for an electronic scoreboard over the game (like this one: Welcome stigausa.com - BlueHost.com ). I got myself an Arduino Uno and have been tinkering with it for the past week or so (made a bunch of LEDs light up, etc). But I eventually want to make my own electronic scoreboard mounted center ice, so to speak, over the playing surface with two or maybe even four displays. So I'm hoping someone can point me to the right tutorials or examples that I can modify to meet my needs.

I want the scoreboard to use 7 segment LCDs for the time remaining (a four digit time display), the period (a 7 segment LCD or single LCD for each period), and home and visitor score (two 7 segment LCDs each). The time will display 20 minute periods but will run at accelerated rate so in reality each period will only be 5 minutes. Ideally I'll mount each display to a PCB and have the wiring go to the Arduino, auxiliary power, and speakers under the table. Each player will have a button so when both are pushed the game can start. Play starts with a slot or PVC tube puck drop mechanism incorporated in the scoreboard that uses either a servo or solenoid . When the two player buttons are pushed, a whistle MP3 audio sounds, then within a random amount of time between one and five seconds the puck drops to the playing surface to the MP3 audio of cheering for five seconds or so. I'm also installing a sensor in each of the goals that will be triggered when a puck makes its way into the plastic cup under the net. Once the switch is tripped I’d like the score to advance and audio to play a horn or siren and some tune from an MP3 file like what happens in NHL games.