PC -> wireless -> arduino -> RC car

Hello everyone,

I have never worked with Arduino boards myself before, but I though they might be usefull for the following project I want to do.

I want to controll an RC tank from my PC. The tracks need PWM so I can steer while on the move.
My questions are:

1. Is this possible with a budged of MAX 60 euro?
  2. What board should I get?
  3. What wireless components should I get? Also keeping in mind that I need to connect it to a PC. Most likely a USB to serial converter is needed and a small circuit. Hopefully not a whole micro controller.

The range of the wireless components does not have to be much more than 300 feet or 50 meter, since the wireless camera's will have a similar range. (Playing world af tanks in real life XD ).

I think there are plenty of tutorials available, but I would love some advice on the components to use.

That sounds feasible. Plenty of people have done similar.

At the tank end, there are well-known solutions for generating the type of PWM control signal that ordinary radio control systems use to drive servos and speed controllers.

At the PC end you may be able to use a bluetooth adapter connected directly to the PC but I have no experience of doing that - an alternative that certainly would work would be to connect an Arduino to the PC and put a radio transceiver on each Arduino. There are various types available with different prices/ranges. You would need an application on the PC to send commands to the Arduino,and of course you would need to display the output from the web cam. If your tanks are going to provide any sort of 'hit' detection then you could use the same communication system in the other direction to inform you of the state of the various tanks.

If you don't need that feedback, have you considered just installing an ordinary hobby RC system? It would be a heck of a lot less work.

something like this ? no PC Required.

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com