IR remote with Arduino?

I am very new to the whole microcontroller/Arduino thing. For my first real project I want to control a Nikon D40x using an infrared LED. I used the same pulse times as the ones here: bigmike.it - infrared remote control for Nikon with a simple digitalWrite in Milliseconds. I couldn't get that to work with the camera, and I am thinking that the timing is slightly off.

How fast is the Arduino clock cycle? Is it fast enough to display 400 microseconds (0.4ms) correctly? If not, is there a faster way to control an LED?

There's some code for sending and receiving IR remote codes on this thread:

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1176098434

alternatively you could build this module and hook it up to the duino:

It would help a lot if you posted your code.

The Arduino can give you a precision pulse down to 3uS (0.003ms)

I suspect your problem is that you are turning the LED on for the entire on pulse. According to the site you linked, you should be modulating it at 38.4kHz.

Without your code though, all I can do is guess and it's much harder to guess what you might have done wrong than see it in your code.

Thanks for the quick responses!

It would help a lot if you posted your code.

The Arduino can give you a precision pulse down to 3uS (0.003ms)

I suspect your problem is that you are turning the LED on for the entire on pulse. According to the site you linked, you should be modulating it at 38.4kHz.

Without your code though, all I can do is guess and it's much harder to guess what you might have done wrong than see it in your code.

Yeah, all I did was modify the Blink example, so here tis:

/*

*copied from http://www.bigmike.it/ircontrol/download.html

WaveForm data:

Infrared period = 26us (~38.4kHz)

Strart pulse:       2000us 2ms
pause:            27830us 27.83ms
1st pulse:        390us 0.39ms
pause:             1580us 1.58ms
2nd pulse:        410us 0.41ms
pause:             3580us 3.58ms
3rd pulse:        400us 0.4ms