Utterly noob question about multiple pushbuttons

Hi all,
My very first adventure into Arduino and as expected I have already encountered some problems.
Thing is, I need a few pushbuttons to go to each their own dig input, but I can't seem to get the code right. I have hooked them up with each their own 10K resistor to ground, but only one of the buttons seems to be read. It is not a hardware error as I have swopped them around to verify it isn't the case, but I can only get the first input in the code to read, the second one does nothing.
I have tried looking through the archives here and though there are quite a lot on multiple buttons, nothing seems to tackle this absolute beginners question...
I am trying to control a stand-alone stepper motor driver which is not only a step and direction controller but also has a pulsator built in. The different functions like enabling it and changing direction are just done by bringing a lead from each function to ground. Speed is done by voltage input - so after I solve this problem, I hope to get into PWM to control the speed. (I chose this board because it is simple and I need to control a stepper for a project kinda ASAP. First I just did it with analogue switches, but now I wanna try doing it through an Arduino and grow from there)
For now, I simply need to know how to get more than one button to send out either a HIGH or LOW dig output. Should be simple...
As said, I can get the first one to work...

This is my first code ever and hope the naming of the buttons and outputs is not too weird.

// CONSTANTS DON'T CHANGE
// Set pin number for BUTTONS:
const int buttonPinRUN = 12;     // the number of the pushbutton pin to make stepper RUN
const int buttonPinDIR = 10;     // the number of the pushbutton pin to make stepper change DIRECTION

// set pin number for OUTPUT wires to stepper controller:
const int RunStepper =  13;      // the number of the RUN wire pin