Arduinos on there own personal LAN. Possible?

Hello am not new to arduino but I am new to the magic of the Ethernet.

Is it possible to get two arduinos on Ethernet to chat to each other on there own LAN network.
I would Ideally like to send data to one through serial, which would then communicate via there own LAN to the other to perform operations.

Am actually an engineer and am trying to learn using Ethernet for future work so am looking to experiment with ethernet communication to get my head round it.

They must not communicate through the INTERNET.

Well - provided each had an ethernet shield connected (or equivalent), and they were all connected to a switch or hub - I don't think it would be an issue (assuming proper coding on each Arduino, of course). However, I don't have any experience with ethernet-enabled Arduinos; my assumptions are made from what little I have gleaned about the hardware and software involved on this forum and other places...

I didnt think about a switcher or hub and would rather avoid one if possible and go direct from one ethernet board to the other.
The coding looks the hard part to me

Networking is very much new to me

I hope to move to FPGA one day if I can get my head round it

Why do you want them connected? A simple serial comms link between them might be the way to go, if you want "simple".

madmanwithabox:
I didnt think about a switcher or hub and would rather avoid one if possible and go direct from one ethernet board to the other.

If you're only looking to connect two of them - then a crossover cable should work fine. If you need more than two, then you'll need to use a switch or hub (I don't know of any dual ethernet shields or such for the Arduino - you might be able to do something custom like that using a Mega; the issue is the number of pins needed, more than anything - although you might be able to pull something off with a regular Arduino, software serial ports, and a couple of those serial-to-ethernet adapters).