advice please - Device to track how a delivery company handles our parcels

Hello

We ship a lot of parcels by courier and we're seeing too many breakages. Having all-but exhausted internal complaints and procedures etc - and having our packaging approved, again - I'd like to track some parcels to see what they are doing to them and see if they are handling them as they claim.

I've built some Arduino projects before so I'm not a complete newbie.

Ideally I'd use a PI or similar and record video and audio too but have concerns about power etc. Perhaps just using an Arduino and an IMU would be a good start (and cheaper and need less power).

Does anyone have any thoughts on how best this could be done?

We can send the parcels to someone we know.

Thanks

If you want to go low tech there's already a commercial solution:

It looks like the come in several G force ratings.

I guess the idea is partly that if the people handling your packages see the thing on there they will be more careful. I'm not sure whether the workers actually care, especially this time of year. I hear the workers at the standard shipping services will literally throw the packages across the room.

A more technological project would be interesting, though I don't know how useful the information gained will be to you. I remember seeing a video on YouTube that was actually a camera that was recording video through a small hole in a package through the whole journey. I'm not sure what kind of legal implications that might have.

What about having an Arduino with an SD Card, an accelerometer and a real time clock. Every few seconds it saves the time and the highest accelerometer reading to the SD Card. Maybe it can also detect which way up it is sitting (or maybe that would need another sensor).

When you get the parcel back you can plug the SD Card into a PC and get a detailed report of what forces the package was subject to and when.