how do I interface with a 4x4 keypad/

Hi,

I am new to this Arduino uno R3. Can i check how do i use Arduino connected to a 4x4 keypad?

http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/KeypadTutorial

If suppose i had use the custom keypad program from the examples, is that the full program or there is still some parts need to be admend
as i tried to connect the o/p pin to the port of arduino R3

is that the full program

Not sure what you mean. It is an example of how to use the library. If you could code there is nothing at all difficult about writing a function to scan the keyboard and return a key press.

as i tried to connect the o/p pin to the port of arduino

Not sure what you are trying to do.

Sorry, I mean if suppose i am trying to program to use the 4x4 keypad(For example using the 4x4 keypad to the Serial monitor from the arduino software) , what are the necessary connection from the arduino boards to the 4x4 keypad.
Then with the function, how do I program to use it.
As from the link, I don understand as It does not show some program examples where I can try with.

I don understand as It does not show some program examples where I can try with.

Why do you say that? There is example code on that page. You have a 4X4 keypad and it shows a 4X3 example. Try it and just leave one of your connections out. Later you can add it in when you understand more.

what are the necessary connection from the arduino boards to the 4x4 keypad.

Each column connector and each row connector needs to be connected to an arduino pin, that is it.

I'm sorry , I don understand. For example with the code:

/* @file CustomKeypad.pde
|| @version 1.0
|| @author Alexander Brevig
|| @contact alexanderbrevig@gmail.com
||
|| @description
|| | Demonstrates changing the keypad size and key values.
|| #
*/
#include <Keypad.h>

const byte ROWS = 4; //four rows
const byte COLS = 4; //four columns
//define the cymbols on the buttons of the keypads
char hexaKeys[ROWS][COLS] = {
{'0','1','2','3'},