Divide blueToothSerial Response

Please help.

I am righting an app for the Arduino Mega 2560. I want to read parts of the recvData which is char type. How do I do this. I'm new to C.

void blueToothGetData(){
//convert char to string
//char *chr = "this is a char";
//string str = chr;
char recvData =' ';
if(blueToothSerial.available()){//check if there's any data sent from the remote bluetooth shield
recvData = blueToothSerial.read();
}
}

Thanks in advance guys.

Phil

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,149014.0.html

Bluetooth works over serial, so keep reading in the chars and store them in a array. You will need a terminating char like a period.

char DATA_Array[20];
int count =0;

In your loop()

if(Serial.available()) {
char DATA = Serial.read();
if(DATA == '.') {
// display data then clear it for new data
// set count back to zero
}
else {
Data_Array[count++] = DATA;
}
}

Thanks Guys for your responses.

However I forgot to mention For Sending and Receiving from the bluetooth I am using SoftwareSerial.H Here In lies my problem. It appears that A char variable as in my example above, appears to read the whole of the buffer.

For example a char in this case readData lwhen used with readData = bluetoothSerial.read() returns the entire buffer.

to test this I used the following code with out a loop, just a single call:

readData = blueToothSerial.read();
Serialprint(readData+"\r\n");

Printed in the Monitor was an entire string.

So how can I strip readData apart.

Thanks for all your efforts in replying I appreciate it.

Phil

It's about time to post your whole program, don't you think ?

For instance, what data type is readData in your latest example and how/where is bluetoothSerial defined ?

For example a char in this case readData lwhen used with readData = bluetoothSerial.read() returns the entire buffer.