mcufriend 2.4 TFT LCD Screen Always Blank

Hi, I am new to the Arduino, I have an Uno and I bought the above screen for it but I can't get anything to print to the screen and I am wondering if it is my that is at fault or the screen.

This is the code that I have run:-

#include <Adafruit_GFX.h>    // Core graphics library
#include <MCUFRIEND_kbv.h>   // Hardware-specific library
MCUFRIEND_kbv tft;

#include <Fonts/FreeSans9pt7b.h>
#include <Fonts/FreeSans12pt7b.h>
#include <Fonts/FreeSerif12pt7b.h>

#include <FreeDefaultFonts.h>

#define BLACK   0x0000
#define RED     0xF800
#define GREEN   0x07E0
#define WHITE   0xFFFF
#define GREY    0x8410

void setup(void)
{
    Serial.begin(9600);
    uint16_t ID = tft.readID();
    if (ID == 0xD3) ID = 0x9481;
    tft.begin(ID);
    tft.setRotation(0);
}

void loop(void)
{
    tft.fillScreen(BLACK);
    showmsgXY(20, 10, 1, NULL, "System x1");
    showmsgXY(20, 24, 2, NULL, "System x2");
    showmsgXY(20, 60, 1, &FreeSans9pt7b, "FreeSans9pt7b");
    showmsgXY(20, 80, 1, &FreeSans12pt7b, "FreeSans12pt7b");
    showmsgXY(20, 100, 1, &FreeSerif12pt7b, "FreeSerif12pt7b");
    showmsgXY(20, 120, 1, &FreeSmallFont, "FreeSmallFont");
    showmsgXY(5, 180, 1, &FreeSevenSegNumFont, "01234");
    showmsgXY(5, 190, 1, NULL, "System Font is drawn from topline");
    tft.setTextColor(RED, GREY);
    tft.setTextSize(2);
    tft.setCursor(0, 220);
    tft.print("7x5 can overwrite");
    delay(1000);
    tft.setCursor(0, 220);
    tft.print("if background set");
    delay(1000);
    showmsgXY(5, 260, 1, &FreeSans9pt7b, "Free Fonts from baseline");
    showmsgXY(5, 285, 1, &FreeSans9pt7b, "Free Fonts transparent");
    delay(1000);
    showmsgXY(5, 285, 1, &FreeSans9pt7b, "Free Fonts XXX");
    delay(1000);
    showmsgXY(5, 310, 1, &FreeSans9pt7b, "erase backgnd with fillRect()");
    delay(10000);
}

void showmsgXY(int x, int y, int sz, const GFXfont *f, const char *msg)
{
    int16_t x1, y1;
    uint16_t wid, ht;