Servo control - from Processing?

Hello everyone,

Ok so I've been working all day but to no avail.....

I'm attempting to control a servo motor via serial communication (characters sent from a simple Processing sketch)
Since I've never done this before I tried to use the LED example (that detects if the mouse cursor is over the square and if so, send power to the LED) as a starting point.

I assumed that it would be as easy as changing the code to send a pulse to the servo as the serial reads a ASCI character, but I'm getting no movement.

The other problems occur when I attempt to run the Processing sketch - it sometimes disconnects the serial connection leaving error messages etc.

heres the code for the ARDUINO:

int outputPin = 13;
int val;

int minPulse = 1000;
int maxPulse = 2500;
int pulse = 0;

int lastPulse = 0;
int refreshTime = 20;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(outputPin, OUTPUT);
  pulse = maxPulse;
  Serial.begin (9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (Serial.available()) {
    val = Serial.read();
    if (val == 'H') {
      pulse = minPulse;
    }
    if (val == 'L') {
      pulse = maxPulse;
    }
  }
 updateServo(); 
}

void updateServo()
{
   if (millis() - lastPulse >= refreshTime) {
    digitalWrite(outputPin, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(pulse);
    digitalWrite(outputPin, LOW);

lastPulse = millis();
   }
}

heres the code for PROCESSING

import processing.serial.*;

Serial port;

void setup()
{
  size (200,200);
  noStroke();
  frameRate(10);

println(Serial.list());

port = new Serial(this, Serial.list()[0], 9600);
}

boolean mouseOverRect()
{
  return ((mouseX >= 50) && (mouseX <=150) &&(mouseY >= 50) && (mouseY <= 150));
}

void draw()
{
  background(#222222);
  if(mouseOverRect())
  {
    fill(#BBBBB0);
    port.write('H');
  }
  else
  {
    fill(#666660);
    port.write('L');
  }
  rect(50,50,100,100);
}

If anyone has some insight on Serial Servo control, I would greatly appreciate it.
Cheers

• Nick

hi