Why do newly uploaded sketches not execute until the serial monitor is opened?

I have only had my Uno a few days, but I am sure it wasn't like this at the start. Now however, it seems, even the example blink program, won't start up until I open the IDE's serial monitor window after I upload the sketch.

If I reset the Uno, or power it up, without the IDE connected, then it works normally. But if I upload a new sketch, the Uno just sits there, until I open the serial monitor - which resets the Uno, and then it starts executing the sketch.

Happens to me too with mega 2560. That's why I opt to use lcd instead for debugging. I'm impatient lol. I'm total noob too. I'll be watching to see what the good guys say. :slight_smile:

noobdude:
Happens to me too with mega 2560. That's why I opt to use lcd instead for debugging. I'm impatient lol. I'm total noob too. I'll be watching to see what the good guys say. :slight_smile:

I have an LCD I can use too, but even without any code trying to write to the serial port (which is why I gave the example of the blink program - it doesn't use the serial port), it still seems to hang. Maybe it's normal - and I never noticed it earlier. Just thought I'd get the experts to set me straight :).

One answer might be, that the sketch is "waiting" to either send data, or receive data,
from the serial monitor.

michinyon:
One answer might be, that the sketch is "waiting" to either send data, or receive data,
from the serial monitor.

I tried to ensure that is not happening, hence why I gave the example of blink program that comes with the IDE. I see nothing in that sketch sending or receiving data.

Here it is to save you having to look for it.

/*
  Blink
  Turns on an LED on for one second, then off for one second, repeatedly.

This example code is in the public domain.
 */

// Pin 13 has an LED connected on most Arduino boards.
// give it a name:
int led = 13;

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset: