Confused Newbie Two IDE's?

Hello everyone, I am new to the world of microcrontrollers and electronics. My ultimate goal is to make my knitting machine talk to my computer See this hack.
Anyway, I just receicved my Arduino in the mail, but the documentation directs me to Arduino.org.
:confused: I've read up a bit and understand there are some legal troubles. My question is: Does this mean there are now two IDE's? I think I have the one that is on Arduino.cc as it is in the Linux mint repos.
Or are they both the same?
Can I ask questions on these forums.?
(Well I think I just have :slight_smile: ....

Edited Title to be more descriptive.

Yeah - there's a bit of a legal problem (ok - actually, it sounds like a large legal problem) going on between the founders of the Arduino (arduino.cc) and the (original) manufacturer of the Arduino board (now arduino.org).

Short (but likely not wholly correct) version: The founders needed a board manufacturer - they brought this guy on board to help make them in Italy (not sure if any money/shares changed hands as a part of the deal - or if there was a paperwork contract, or just a verbal agreement - like I said, it's a thorny legal issue, from what I have seen), and essentially behind the original founders backs, the guy files for an actual trademark on the Arduino name, gets a new domain (arduino.org) - and (I think) starts doing his own marketing.

It is my belief that he did this to try to wrest control of the Arduino (lock-stock-and-barrel) from the founders, who basically trusted him; he wants to make a ton of money - the founders are more interested in spreading the Arduino "love" by going international in some manner (don't get me wrong - they are making money and need to make money to keep this site going, etc). At any rate, I think (I don't really -know- anything; that's for the courts) that the guy is trying really hard to pull a fast one.