Help!! Interrupt vs polling vs PCINTs

Hi all,

Im fairly new to Arduino, but enjoying it thus far...

Currently im stuck with a slight problem with interrupts vs pcints vs polling.
Im using the Arduino Mega 2560 for my robot, which consists of 9 servos using PWM from the board but powered externally, i then have 4 IR sensors like those available from sharp etc. and 4 force sensors (FSRs) (will be adding additional contact switches +- 4 switches), i also use 3 Uart channels (2x rs232 1x rs485).

Reading over the Atmel atmega2560 datasheet i saw there were 8 ext ints but now see that the Arduino only has 6 (2 of which i need for pwm [must use timer3, frequency thing] and 2 for uart [I use uart 1]).

So being quiet an idiot i have already fabricated some PCBs with comparator circuits for the FSRs and IR sensors (circuit will switch to digital '1' when force exceeds "x" and '0' otherwise likewise the IR circuit '1' when "x" distance to object etc..) this is needed so that the thresholds can be adjusted via a pot easily and no need for extra ADC coding ("in the field").....

So can anyone please help with the problem regarding number of interrupts... PLEASE!
(reason for interrupt is I need the robot to stop IMMEDIATELY as soon as one of these conditions are true... If it does not stop eg. when im moving the arm forward to pick up a chemical it will bump it over, and boom[well not really, but u get the picture]...).

I have seen some mention the PCINTs but I dont really want to mess around with these as they are not 100% reliable (project requires a 99% accuracy) and I dont see how polling can be used if i tell servo to move to "x" and it bumps over something before stopping!

So any advise will really be appreciated!!

Many Thanks
Rich

What makes you think that pin change interrupts are not 100% reliable?