Can Arduino produce 4 separate Sine Waves simult..

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started hacking with my Arduino, and have several project ideas. One that I'd like to explore requires outputting 4 separate sine waves, at different frequencies, simultaneously. I understand that I'd probably need to output square waves, and smooth them out with an external filter, however I'd like some control over shaping each of the waves.

Primarily, though, I'm hoping the chip has enough horsepower to perform this task. If not, I'm sure I could accomplish something similar using 4 separate uC's, one for each output, but I'd love to make it clean and require only one processing unit.

Also, does anyone have any experience using lasers with photovaristors? I'd like to modify my sine waves characteristics my subtly manipulating the amount of laser light the input receives, but am not sure if the standard photo components will work fine with laser light.

Thanks!
Durin

Hi diggum ,
this depends very much on the maximum frequencies you need.

Eberhard

Hi everyone,
Also, does anyone have any experience using lasers with photovaristors? I'd like to modify my sine waves characteristics my subtly manipulating the amount of laser light the input receives, but am not sure if the standard photo components will work fine with laser light.

have a look here: http://home.earthlink.net/~lenyr/modlaser.htm
i got real good results until my laserpointer decided not to tolerate me fooling around with it anymore. i think results could be dependant on the wave length of the laser you're using. i used a standard cheap red from a laserpointer (650nm).