Two Ping sensors on one Arduino

Hi, Newbie here again.

I want to run two Ping sensors from one Arduino and have them both be reading pulses at the SAME time. They would both be the input to an LED whose intensity would be controlled by a person's proximity.

My reasoning for using two Ping sensors is that I would like to increase the pulse distance of the Ping sensor. Currently, I have found my Ping (with a cyperbolic reflector to already increase distance) reads only to 370 cm max. In general, mine reads only to 200 cm. I would like to double that distance.

Any ideas? Are two ping sensors possible? Is there an easier way to do this?

Your comments are SO appreciated.

That are a lot of questions:

The effectiveness of a ping sensor depends on the distance the sound has travelled. The longer the path the more energy it looses. Most signals loose energy squared with the distance => twice the distance means four times less signal. So doubling the distance means you have to focus the energy somehow. A reflector could be a good thing (you allready tried ), but maybe a tube will also focus the signal. But by focussing the signal the reflected signal will also be focussed more so It might "shoot" besides the sensor.

I would start with tubes metal / plastic whatever can be found and start experimenting. Hard materials reflect sound best, softer ones absorb the energy.

Easiest way is to search for a sensor that meets your needs, but price is allways an important parameter too :slight_smile:

Using 2 ping sensors in parallel as you propose [SAME TIME] will be not trivial as the Arduino itself can only do one thing at a time.

Some of the Devantech sonars allow you to listen only, but I think you need to work out a way of putting more power into the output burst.
Maybe look at powering with a MAX232 or something like that.
Suggest you try to get hold of an old Polaroid unit.