Go Down

Topic: My Arduino Hardware Wishlist (Read 552 times) previous topic - next topic

BrendaEM

Hi,

I've been using Arduinos for a a few years.

I still want an Arduino mega for the breadboard, like the Micro but with more pins.

To me it's baffling that Official Arduino offerings seem to refuse to even try to compete as far as price. We want to support you--will you meet us part way?

~

The Arm-Cortex chips are fast, but per-pin software controlled level shifting would be handy. I like the idea of 3.3 volt, but the problems extend beyond legacy devices to extended wires, in that 5 volts is likely a more reliable option with some hardware, such as longer wire runs, or where noise might be present.

~

I am not fond for special functions only being supported on certain pins, such as PWM.

~

As far as the editor is concerned. I still want to be able to drag the editing window all the way to the bottom of the IDE. For debugging code, or making instructional videos to help people, the space would be helpful.

I think that Bitstream Vera Mono is much more readable than the included fonts, especially, the serial monitor font, and yes, it is also free.

~

There are still optimizations to be done to the compilers. I've cut out lines of code that cause baffling bytecode expansions.

~

If an an Arduino chip will not run reliably at 75% variable memory capacity, it is indeed at 100%.

~

While I like the structs, I don't care for the objects in the Arduino language. I feel that the established object methods should be migrated to standard C functions, as I've found problems with objects in Arduino, such as: I could not use the String object with the EEPROM object.

I wish the Arduino IDE had an option to clean it's temporary files on exit.

Thank you for reading this far,
BrendaEM

Delta_G

Mar 16, 2017, 01:11 am Last Edit: Mar 16, 2017, 01:12 am by Delta_G
Hi,

I've been using Arduinos for a a few years.