Mounting a Wheel to the DC Motor

I initially purchased the Arduino Starter Kit (the one from the site, not some other companies version). I went through the projects and have moved on to trying to make my own stuff. I'm working on making the basic "drive, avoid walls" bot. I have two DC motors I bought at Radioshack. Forewarning - I come from a programming background. So I can handle the code stuff better than the hands on parts.

How do I mount a wheel to the motors? All I've got is this little nub that barely fits anything. Right now my robot is being made out of cardboard. I'm a college student and I've already spent a couple hundred on various electronics (the starter kit, motors, wires, solder. I've purchased a toy and dismantled it and they had plastic gears on their motors and they created some little gearing system inside of it (which would be tough for my shaky hands). What do you guys do for making the body parts as well? I found myself at Lowes finding absolutely nothing useful for building the body. I may end up just getting a bunch of thin pieces of wood. I can't cut the aluminum they did have...

Look here:
http://www.robotshop.com/ca/contact-us.html

Most model shops sell a selection of brass tubing of different diameters. It should be possible to get a piece into which the motor shaft fits snugly and the outside diameter (O/D) may suit your wheel. If not you may need a second piece of tube that fits over the first etc. etc. You would cut the tube to the length you want and glue it in place on the motor shaft with epoxy.

If you can drive a small rod (the size of the motor shaft) into the open end of the tube it should be possible to push the motor out if you need to remove it. On no account try to pull the motor out - you will break it.

...R

How do I mount a wheel to the motors? All I've got is this little nub that barely fits anything. Right now my robot is being made out of cardboard.