RFID

Hello

I'm pretty new to micro's, I'm trying to build an automatic door unlock-locking system using RFID. I've searched and found a lot of info, so much in fact that I am now thoroughly confused! Can someone point me in the right direction? I'm not looking for any hand holding, just some info that relates to my specific application.

TIA

Robert

This is a good tutorial. It helped me get started with RFIDs

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/PRFID

Thanks I'll give it a read.

Well I've hit a big snag! First this is the RFID reader I'm using

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/125khz-rfid-module-uart-p-171.html

There is a link to the data sheet on the page. No matter how I wire it up, or which example I try I can't get it to work! Has anyone used this reader before? Any help appreciated.

Robert

Well I figured it out! I'm so pleased with myself that got it working!!

However I'm still working on getting the built in LED/buzzer driver working, so if anyone can help please let me know.

Thanks
Robert
AKA SubMicro

Do you mind posting your code and pin use?

What problem are you having with the LED/buzzer driver?

Here is the code I got this example from alekoy on this thread http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1248988301

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#define rxPin 2
#define txPin 3

SoftwareSerial mySerial= SoftwareSerial(rxPin, txPin);

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
mySerial.begin(9600);
pinMode(rxPin, INPUT);
pinMode(txPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
for (int i=0;i<=13;i++){
Serial.print(mySerial.read(),BYTE);
}
Serial.println(" <<You may enter BITCH!");
delay(1000);
}

My prob is I figured the LED would blink or light up when it read a tag but it dosen't and the datasheet doesn't mention how to implement it. There is a 3 pin header just for this. My plan is to slowly build on the example code. I haven't even gotten to the multiple cards or unlocking the door and I'm stuck! this is going to be a long project!

SubMicro