Serial DC Motor Control

I need to combine these too code, I tried to but it ended up not working at all. If you would like can you guys guide me on how to combine these code. I'm still a rookie. The codes work perfectly individually.

int ad=8;  
int cd=7;  
int incom;

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600); 
}

void loop(){
  if(Serial.available()){ 
    incom=Serial.read();  
  }
  switch(incom){
    case'a': 
    pinMode(ad,OUTPUT);
    pinMode(cd,OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(ad,HIGH);
    digitalWrite(cd,LOW);
    Serial.println("FORWARD");
    break;
    case's': 
    pinMode(ad,OUTPUT);
    pinMode(cd,OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(ad,LOW);
    digitalWrite(cd,HIGH);
    Serial.println("REVERSE"); 
    break;
    case'd': 
    pinMode(ad,OUTPUT);
    pinMode(cd,OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(ad,LOW);
    digitalWrite(cd,LOW);
    Serial.println("BRAKE"); 
    break;
    case'f': 
    pinMode(ad,INPUT);
    pinMode(cd,INPUT);
    Serial.println("FREE-RUN");
    break;
    default:
    Serial.println("Please key in command"); 
    delay(1000);
    break;
  }
}

And here is the second code set

int motorPin = 3;

void setup() 
{ 
  pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (! Serial);
  Serial.println("Speed 0 to 255");
} 

void loop() 
{ 
  if (Serial.available())
  {
    int speed = Serial.parseInt();
    if (speed >= 0 && speed <= 255)
    {
      analogWrite(motorPin, speed);
    }
  }
}

Please help, i will be really grateful. Thank you 8)

Criss Chicas

Crazycr1ss:
I need to combine these too code, I tried to but it ended up not working at all. If you would like can you guys guide me on how to combine these code. I'm still a rookie. The codes work perfectly individually.

The first sketch is pretty poor - it will keep repeatedly processing the last command until you enter a new one.

The first sketch accepts a single character as a command. The second one accepts a numeric string as a command.