Go Down

Topic: How to programing AVR MCUs by Arduino (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

nevar91

Hello everyone,

I need to use a larger MCU then is ATmega328P on my Arduino Uno (ATmega1280 or 1281 proberly), but I am a beginner with a MCU programing and I want to be sure with this.
So, to programing ATm1280 by Arduino Uno I will connect SCK - slave reset on Arduino pins 13 - 10 to their´s pins on 1280 (with 16MHz ext. osc.), in the Arduino IDE I will choose Burn Bootloader - Arduino as ISP and upload ArduinoISP program. Than I´ll reconnect 1280 to Arduino serial link and after "Arduino mega (Atmega1280)" will be choosen as a board in in Arduino IDE I can programing it through Wiring and Arduino Uno board.
But ATm1281 I will have to programing through AVR Studion for a example.
Is that correct?

Thanks a lot.

putyn

first youll need to make a board for your atmega 1280/1281 since it doesn't have a dip breadboard friendly version - buying the arduino mega pcb would be the best thing since the board has all the footprints to get the atmega working + a ICSP header

if your going to program the atmega via avr studio i dont think youll need the bootloader because all the programming will be done via the ICSP programmer
i also suggest that you get a dedicated programmer if you want to use avr studio - arduino as isp its a quick solution but not sure if it was intended to be used as a dedicated programmer

nevar91

I will use my own footprint with ATmega1280/1281, but I wanna try Arduino as a ICSP before buying dedicated AVR ISCP programmer.
On it´s board are two ICSP pins. The one close to ATmega328P is assembled with a header, but the ICSP pins close to ATmega8U2 are not assembled (no header there).
I not sure which one connect with ATmega1280/1281´s ISCP.
Arduino IDE support ATmega1280 programing (the used to have it on the Arduino Mega board I think), so I hope to will be able programing 1280 on a footprint with Arduino language.

nevar91