Go Down

Topic: Soil pH sensor (Read 208 times) previous topic - next topic

kwirk

hello guys! I am really new to this environment.  I am trying to find a pH sensor that can be installed to the soil directly and be interfaced with the arduino. But i am not lucky to find it yet. Do you have any idea guys? Thank you so much for the response. It's will help me a lot.

wvmarle

I have seen regular pH probes that had been ruggedised to use in soil. Those should be able to connect to a regular pH probe amplifier, which in turn can be read by an Arduino.
Quality of answers is related to the quality of questions. Good questions will get good answers. Useless answers are a sign of a poor question.

Delta_G

I have seen regular pH probes that had been ruggedised to use in soil. Those should be able to connect to a regular pH probe amplifier, which in turn can be read by an Arduino.
The soil would have to be soaking wet for that to work well.  And it would give you the pH of the water in the soil which may be affected by the soil and not really the *soil pH* as gardeners tend to want it reported. 
If at first you don't succeed, up - home - sudo - enter.

tigger

A I recall, when doing soil analysis, the standard test for soil pH was to mix 1 part soil with 2.5 parts deionised water (can't remember if it was by weight or volume), so it does need quite a lot of water.
As wvmarle says, there are reinforced probes available which used to be called spear electrodes.
Likely to be pricey

jremington

Oct 10, 2017, 06:10 pm Last Edit: Oct 10, 2017, 06:11 pm by jremington
and not really the *soil pH* as gardeners tend to want it reported
I'm not a gardener, so what would that "gardener's *soil pH*" be?

The entire concept of pH depends on lots of water being present.

Delta_G