Go Down

Topic: Question about sensors (Read 331 times) previous topic - next topic

casampot

Oct 10, 2017, 02:38 pm Last Edit: Oct 10, 2017, 02:44 pm by casampot
Hi .. im a newbie here...

Could someone help me please..

How to code a detection for certain time

Like if(value>400) the condition's program will be executed if it detected it for 5secs ... if not 5secs then it will not execute the condition's program

It must satisfy the condition for 5 seconds before it execute the condition's program

Please help me ...

wvmarle

Using millis().

Record time when value is over/under threshold, set a flag that you're counting, and after the interval has passed start your action. Use flags to keep track of the status.

Code: [Select]

uint32_t lastGood = 0;
bool counting = false;
bool actionTaken = false;
loop() {
value = readValue();
if (value>400 && counting == false) { // Start counting when the threshold is breached.
  counting = true;
  lastGood = millis();
}
if (millis() - lastGood > interval && counting && actionTaken == false) {
  // After the interval has passed and we're counting and we haven't taken action yet, take action.
  takeAction();
  actionTaken = true; // only once for a too low value
}
if (value < 400) { // Value is good; reset the flags.
  actionTaken = false;
  counting = false;
}
}
Quality of answers is related to the quality of questions. Good questions will get good answers. Useless answers are a sign of a poor question.

casampot

Where should i put the "digitalWrite(kPinLed, HIGH);" if it satisfy the conditions

wvmarle

There's the takeAction() function that does stuff when the conditions are met.

To stop taking the action (e.g. switch off the LED, assuming HIGH is ON), modify if a bit (even without calling the stopAction() this is an optimisation as it's not run all the time):

if (value < 400 && actionTaken) { // Value is good; reset the flags.
  stopAction();
  actionTaken = false;
  counting = false;
}