Go Down

Topic: Printout analogValue (Read 193 times) previous topic - next topic

badz

Hi. I want to read out an analog Signal and show the Value on my TFT Display. If I Overwrite the Value too often, it flickers a bit. So i wanted to compare my Value, and just Overwrite after 5% of the last Value.
How could i for example compare my actualValue with my lastValue +- 5%, and print the Value out?

Hope you can help im a newbie, and thanks in advance :D

MorganS

I guess you could do that. It seems like you are halfway there because you've got names for your variables already and a good idea of the logic required.

There's two other ways to attack this problem:

1. Only print to the TFT 2 or 5 times per second. Study the blink-without-delay example for an idea on how to do this.

2. Only print digits which have changed. Then you don't waste a lot of time printing the first few digits which don't change very often. This can make the whole program much more responsive.
"The problem is in the code you didn't post."

UKHeliBob

How could i for example compare my actualValue with my lastValue +- 5%, and print the Value out?
Create 2 new variables, let's call then upperValue and lowerValue.  Calculate lastValue + 5% and save it to upperValue.  Calculate lastValue - 5% and save it to lowerValue

Then
Code: [Select]
if (actualValue <= lowerValue || actualValue >= upperValue)
{
  //print actualValue here
  lastValue = actualValue;
}
Please do not send me PMs asking for help.  Post in the forum then everyone will benefit from seeing the questions and answers.

MarkT

I'd vote for updating screen at a fixed rate indepedent of reading the analog pin.  You don't want the
screen update to be flooded with updates just because an input is changing rapidly, it just needs
to be timely enough for a human to read.

And you don't want to fail to update indefinitely because the value has only change 1%, which is what your
proposed scheme would do.