IR Beam Interrupt

Hi to all forum,
I am really a beginner in Arduino, I know some of coding and electronics.
But the experience is so important, and I do not still have it in all refered to arduino... I do have Arduino Uno, I have made the basic examples...

I would like to know if there some kind of reader of IR Beam Interrupter (for example, put it so close of the entrance door, and when somebody across, or maybe only when door is opened, the IR Beam is interrupted, and I can read that change). The code might be simple I think... Always in 1, when interrupted changes to 0¿

I will apreciate all information, maybe in dealextreme there is that kind of target already build, maybe 2 targets, one Rx and Tx... I do not want to use proximity, just the interruption...

THANKS SO MUCH,
LyonJK

Do a google search on IR phototransistor. You will get a lot of information.

Look at the attached circuit. Q1 is a typical IR phototranisitor like a LPT035 or something similar.

BTW, this is just a sample. It may or may not work in your case as I do not know how powerful your IR beam is.

Hi BillO,
I really thank your information. In my case, I imagine first I need to know a little bit more, I only need to measure "the interruption". But as you say, power need to be considerated¿ The entrance where the door is located, only has 2 or 3 meters.... I understand there will be two parts, the transmitter and the receiver, right¿

Thanks so much,
LyonJK

This project does something similar, It has an IR Transmitter fitted and the Arduino looks for the presence of the IR to count a lap, you want to look for the abscense of the IR to indicate a person, but the principle is the same -

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com

These also work well for detecting people going past: arduino ultrasonic sensor for sale | eBay

(plus you only need one set of wires).

lyonjk:
Hi BillO,