remote sensors - wich (wired) connection is better?

Hi evrybody,

im a newbie so please forgive me for any mistake/missing info/wrong topic etc, ill do my best.

My aim is the following:

I want to build a DOMOTIC system based on a RASPBERRY PI (php server for interfacing all commands, i.e. close window, switch off lights etc) linket through UART to a ARDUINO MEGA (master, other arduinos will be connected later on but this is not the actual problem) with a GSM SHIELD (so that i can command all stuff also by means of a mobile phone)

in practice:

intenternet (router)-ETHERNET-raspberry-UART-mega-??????-all actuators and sensors and maybe some slaves

The problem is related to the connections between the mega and all sensors and actuators, potentially far tens of meters.

Due to the fact that the hause i would like to "domotize" is not totally built yet, i wanted to use as many wires as possible because im a little afraid of wireless systems: a twisted wire is working/not working and so it will be "forever" and also because im free to place as many "wire pipes" as i wish.

Here comes the problem: i cannot connect anything by means of simple wires farther then 50cm-1m.

The possible solution i analyzed:

-signal repeaters along the wire=>expensive, unefficient (pw dissipated), hard to implement (inside pipes i should place thousand of those)
-wirelessy sonnected remoted arduinos (xbee-like)=>expensive (one arduno+xbee evry group of I/O), unefficient & i like wires :slight_smile:
-wirelessy connected remoted sensors=>a little cheaper, unefficient (lots of power supplys), a mess to implement (70-80 wireless I/O?) & again i like wires :slight_smile:

Any suggestion?
Have anybody tried something similar?

P.S. sono italiano, scrivo in inglese perchè oramai sono abituato a cercare e chiedere così, ma una risposta è ovviamente la benvenuta in qualunque lingua sia, se volete una traduzione in ITA non avete che a chiedere :slight_smile: