Telephone Idea - Feasibility / Advice

Hi guys, I'm interested in creating an audio art project with the Arduino and an old rotary dial phone. I have little knowledge of how Arduino works (I've learned how to use a simple light sensor with Max/MSP and blink an LED), but I am asking here as I only have a month to create something.

My current idea is to loop the sound coming in through the phone's mic and use the rotary dial as a speed/pitch controller for the audio loop playing back through the phone's output speaker, all without the aid of a nearby computer. I have no idea where to begin so I would appreciate any advice or information regarding the feasibility and needs of this project.

Thanks,

Alex

Well, the rotary dial itself will be just a number of pulses representing the number selected. So to get that number, you just count pulses. I would use an interrupt for that.

What is a bit more unclear is what effect you are expecting with the pitch control. Obviously to do this, you will need to delay the audio. This is going to be a bit disconcerting to the user, I would think. Are we talking about them speaking into the mic, then selecting a number to play it back at different pitch or are you expecting this to be real-time?

There are several voice changer ICs out there that might help. However, the closest that I see is the transpose function which will make the voice lower or higher. I don't think that is multi-level, though.

Another option would be to get a PCM encoder and decoder IC set. Put your arduino in between. You would then take a sample of a second or two of audio and spit it out to the decoder faster or slower depending on the effect you want.

Also, take a look at this:
http://elm-chan.org/works/vp/report.html

Retroplayer:
are you expecting this to be real-time?

Sorry about that, yes I would like this to be real-time. I've read that this is where it can get quite complicated.

Real-time continuous output, adjustable with the rotary wheel.