Can the Arduino do this ?

Gooday,
I am a newbie to micros, being an old cmos/ttl dinosaur.
I have ordered my first Arduino, but there is going to be a lot of learning to do, and I don't really know if my long term project will be possible, thats where I could do with some advice. ( I don't expect this to be my first project ! I will be starting with the flashing LED etc )

My goal is to have 6 outputs of the micro sequentially feeding a demux chip, to switch 64 bcd switches.
The 4 binary outputs from each switch ( plus one other spst switch ) to be diode fed back to 5 inputs of the micro.
I want the micro to then send this data via a wireless modem.
Preferably there should be a handshake, and then it will move on to the next of the 64 switches, and so on.

There will have to be some other minor data such as an address ( software programmed ) for the receiving device ID, and a couple of realtime push buttons to transmit before the sequential data.

The receiving side ( with a matching software programmed address ) would handle the handshaking, address checking, and convert the bcd from the switches into 8 serial bits representing 7 segment display ( displaying the number on the switch ) plus the spst switch status, and pass the data stream along to a series of 595 latches to feed the 7 seg displays. ( plus the spst switch status )

The receiving micro would have to generate the clock and a latch pulse at the end of the last switch data.

My existing dinosaur system runs at only 5 Khz transmission, so hopefully I can speed it up a bit with the micro?

Do-able with Arduinos ?

John

My existing dinosaur system runs at only 5 Khz transmission, so hopefully I can speed it up a bit with the micro?

Do-able with Arduinos ?

Unfortunately the English language is poor in trying to explain your exact requirements. I'm sure the Arduino can handle the task and at much higher speed if desired. It's just a matter if your Arduino board having has enough I/O pins or not.