Firgelli L12 Linear Actuator Control with Arduino Uno

Hello,

I am very new to using Arduino Uno, and I am using it because I was given a project where I have to figure out how to expand and contract a balloon to specific measurements using a linear actuator connected to a syringe. The Arduino code tells the linear actuator to push and pull back on the syringe which pumps air into and out of the balloon.

That being said, I am a bit worried on what is the biggest angle I can tell the linear actuator to go to. Currently I have it at 300 degrees. Is that too big? Is there a capacity to the linear actuator I should know about so it doesn't burn out?

Also, I need to track how many cycles have passed and the amount of time each stroke takes. Is there a code that I need to implement or do I use something else to do this??

Here's the code I have so far:

#include <Servo.h>
int servoPin = 9;
Servo servo;
int angle = 0; // servo position in degrees
void setup ()
{
servo.attach(servoPin);
}
void loop ()
{

{
// scan from 0 to desired degrees
for (angle = 0; angle < 300; angle++)

{
servo.write(angle);
}
delay(15);
}
// now scan back from desired to 0 degrees
for (angle = 300; angle > -160; angle--)
{
servo.write(angle);
delay(15);
}
}

Thank you.

• Ally

The datasheet suggests that the linear actuator's control is smart enough to not break when given an out-of-range value...

I'd be inclined to use writeMicroseconds() - you know that the range is 1000us to 2000us full scale, it saves a step of calculation, Also, it makes things a little more reasonable, since you're not using "degrees" as a unit to control a linear actuator (which seems sort of silly)

Thank you for the advice.

So do you mean that I would put writeMicroseconds() instead of servo.write(angle)? isn't 2000 microseconds only .002 seconds? that seems awfully short for the linear actuator to move a certain distance.

servo.writeMicroseconds() - yeah