Project with the DAC on the Arduino Due

Hello Everyone!

I am somewhat new to the DUE board and I am attempting to build and write code for a deceptively simple configuration.

I have 0.300 Volts running into A0 on the board. My goal is too

1. Read the correct voltages on A0 on the serial.print screen.

2. Write code in order to get 0.300 volts coming out of the DAC0 on the DUE.

It seems pointless but all i need to do is watch the voltage change on the output of the DAC0 as i change the voltage going into the A0 input.

I have attached the code i have so far. Two problems arise with this code

1. I have it set to read 5.0V/1023.0 but the serial.print reads 0.40 volts. Not the desired 0.300 volts i am putting in A0.

2. I am getting nothing out of the DAC0 port. I want it to read 0.300 volts.

Thank you for your time. Any help would be appreciated! Let me know if you cant open the code file.

Analog_read.ino (725 Bytes)

1. You can't apply 5V to arduino DUE w/o damaging it
  2. DAC outputs in range 1/6 to 5/6 of Vcc, so 0.55 - 2.75V, you can't get 0.3V w/o additional hardware

Those are two very good points! So I should change my scale from 5.0/1023 to 3.3/1023 in order to fallow that rule. Also i will have to use an op amp to bump up my voltage going into the A0. But other than that my code should work just fine correct?

Thank you for your time!

Hi, NO you do not have to bump up the voltage going INTO A0.
You have to lower it, the range on input volts to A0 is 0 to 3.3V , 0 to 4095. You have 0 to 5V.

The output will only be 0.55V to 2.75V, 0 to 4095.

So the output will have to be shifted and amplified to get 0 to 5V output.

What experience do you have with programming, arduino, electronic hardware?

Tom.... :slight_smile: