Safe location of a AC current sensor

Hi guys;

I have a question : Where it would be the best and safe location for a AC current sensor ( donnut type ) to monitor power usage of a typical home inside an electrical braker box ( picture is included in this post ) ?

I am not a pro electrician, I want to install the sensor safely and best way to get the total currents of the house.

I will built the sensor myself by testing it on a test jig and figure out the best numbers of turn for a 100 A reading and for a min of 1 A or less. The circuit I will build will be using op-amps for the signal "translation" going into the analog pin ( Vout from 0 V to 5 V ) .

Top picture : The AC sensor - A concept idea.

Bottom picture : The braker box. Big black wire : 120 into 100 A braker, big white wire, Neutral / GND

Is that white wire at the top or bottom of the box? Personally I'd put it in that corner area, then route the wires from the coil via one of those nearby smaller knockouts, with the wire surrounded by some spiral loom for extra abrasion protection (CYA mainly); securely attach the coil (wire ties?) to the white cable.

BTW - has this been inspected/approved by a licensed electrician and/or home inspector? What does your insurance agent say? I only ask (unless its not an issue/you don't care) because there is some regulation on including low voltage wiring with high voltage wiring (though I think it mainly applies to conduit runs and the like?). You might want to ask around, it if is a concern...?

I'm not worried.... The only way something can go wrong is if an uninsulated part of the low-voltage wire touches an uninsulated part of the hot wire.

I don't know enough about the electrical codes to know what's "legal"... But, I'll make a few suggestions to make it extra-safe.