Dumb down MOSFET Selection?

Can someone dumb this down enough for me to understand?
I have some electronics background (a 100 level class in college), but it seems most of the that has faded over time.

For my first project I have a mega2560, and would like to run the radiator fan in my car with it. I am looking for variable speed control through a digital out (pwm).
The fan probably draws 15-20 amps at full speed. I have no idea what it can spike to on start up.
This is a 12v system.

What mosfet do I need, and more importantly, how do I know what the right mosfet for me is?

In searching, I have found there are n and p types. What's the difference, and why would a dummy like me care?

I can use a heat sink, and really I wouldn't mind running a cooling fan either.

As I understand it, an H-bridge is another option... but I don't need the reverse capabilities...

I'm thinking of the mosfet as a 'fast reacting relay'. Is that fairly accurate?

Anything is appreciated, even if just links to info.

thanks,
jason

Just tried to confirm the specs on my fan, and it appears it is a little more power hungry than I thought...

The only real drawback of the Mark VIII fan is that it draws a hungry 30 to 40 continuous amps, and can momentarily spike up to a 100-amp draw at startup

Read more: http://www.popularhotrodding.com/tech/1005phr_project_fox_cooling_system/viewall.html#ixzz2SA8HeIfU

I am looking for variable speed control through a digital out (pwm).

Why do you need speed control? Auto fans simply operate on/off. Given the the rotational inertia of the fan and the thermal inertia of the radiator how does pwm provide an advantage?

If you can live with on/off a solid state relay is an easy & reliable answer.

Joe

Sorry, I can't advise you on the FET selection. However, every car I've seen uses a simple mechanical relay to turn the fan on and off - even the ones controlled by the ECU ultimately drive it via a relay.

Not ALL vehicles run simple relays.