Pull up?

I'm a marine electrician (I work on ships) and I'm having trouble trying to figure out why some people say it's better to use a pull up resistor for an input as opposed to a pull down resistor.

In my experience, switching neutral and/or negative only leads to problems, some which could be quite serious.

Ccc56:
I'm a marine electrician (I work on ships) and I'm having trouble trying to figure out why some people say it's better to use a pull up resistor for an input as opposed to a pull down resistor.

In my experience, switching neutral and/or negative only leads to problems, some which could be quite serious.

Well different worlds, AC neutral and DC negative. Also one is not switching voltage source wires when they talk of pull-ups or pull-down for arduino input pins.

Here is the thing, arduino input pins, if they have nothing wired to them are said to be in a 'floating condition', meaning they have no default electrical signal wired to them, therefore when executing a digitalRead() statement on a 'floating' input pin will return random HIGH or LOW results just due to circuit noise, emf, phase of the moon, etc.

So to read a typical manual switch contact input (button is a common term used) on a arduino digital input pin, there has to somehow be a default valid digital voltage source (either +5vdc or ground) applied to the pin when the switch contact is in the open condition. Wiring a say 10k ohm resistor to either ground or +5vdc and the other end to the input pin is one way to satisfy that condition. So if we wire a pull-up resistor to +5vdc and the input pin and also wire a switch contact between the input pin and ground, when the switch contact is open it will read as a HIGH and when the switch contact is closed the input will read as LOW. Conversly wiring a pull-down resistor to ground and the input pin, and the switch to the input pin and +5vdc, will result in a valid LOW when not pressed and a valid HIGH when pressed.