Voltage source using zener diodes

Hello people,

Im working In a project using an Arduino Mini Pro and I built a 5.1V source using zener diodes, shown Below. I am also using a RFID module RC522 wich needs 3.3V, I read on internet that i just add a resistor and then a zener diode that works with 3.3V. The whole circuit is shown below.

How good is that circuit? Any suggestions for it?

Please Im new in this world so I will apreciate any help.

Thank you so much.

Zener1.PNG

You are messing with mains which is dangerous if you don't know what you do. And you clearly don't.

Just drop the whole schematic and get yourself a nice and save USB charger. And for the RFID, just grab a 3v3 regulator.

Ok thank you so much. Why is that dangerous? Im curious about. Can I regulate voltage with a potenciometer?

Yes, you can absolutely set voltage with a potentiometer, if that potentiometer is part of a safe adjustable AC- or DC-DC converter that supports to be set by a resistor.
Since you probably are rather speaking of something like a voltage divider: That just goes back to septillion's answer: You don't know what you do and you are going to kill yourself.

Why is that dangerous?

Because AC acts on your neuronal system, which can mess up your heart rate. Or contract your muscles to a point that your bones break. Just as examples. It might also burn you directly - or indirectly, after it set your place of living on fire while you sleep.

Get a 24V power supply (5-12V is also fine, but 24V leaves you more options for playing in the safe range, if you want to play) and an MP1584 DC-DC converter module.

Simply because mains voltage can kill you :slight_smile:

Ok thank you so much. Why is that dangerous? Im curious about.

Althought there's ~5VDC between the Arduino's ground and Vcc, the Arduino's ground can end-up at about 170V* relative to earth ground and that can kill you.