Go Down

Topic: Arduino software with an screen reader (blind users) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

mtcr

I am a teacher of blind children. They use an Screen reader software to work with computers (JAWS or NVDA). I've tried Arduino 1.8 and is not accessible with the screen reader.
We can type the code in a Notepad and them copy and paste in the space of Arduino 1.8.
But then they need the help of the teacher to process the programme.
Do you know any solution? any library or how can I use Arduino software with blind children?
Thank you

M Teresa Corbella

aunspach

I have been somewhat successful using JAWS with the Arduino IDE in a Windows environment, and also using VoiceOver on the Mac.  The trick to accessing the IDE under Windows, for me, has been to install and enable the Java Access Bridge.  The Mac does not require this.

A few warnings about the IDE with a screen reader:

• The status bars for each window (below the edit area and below the compiler notification window) are completely inaccessible at the time of this writing.  There is simply no way I have found to even route a virtual cursor there and read the information in the bar.
  • I typically turn off line numbering, as the screen reader will always treat this as a separate object and read all the line numbers prior to moving to the edit text - if it reads them at all.
  • Even with the Java Access Bridge installed and enabled in Windows, I have noticed JAWS will start the