What would a layman do with C++???

A brief background...no programming or coding experience until last year when I bought an Arduino. I've been a welder/machinist for about six years now, and having the capability to do quite a bit with metal has helped me improve functionality in my home and life. So I am trying to figure out how to use computers i.e. Arduino and C++ to improve the functionality in my home and life. I've found some applications for the Arduino, but I'm at a loss to figure out how to write a computer program to do something useful. This is not a criticism of the programming languages out there, far from it, but aother than large business oriented applications, what would a common man such as myself do with C++? Games hold no interest for me, a deck of cards suits me just fine, and looking through the app store for iPhone and Android I see nothing that would enhance my life. I use trig quite a bit when I am designing projects in metal, but a common calculator handles those problems just fine, with a very low cost and learning curve. I guess I am just a little disillusioned when I see what 14th century armorers could do with hammers and fire, and now, with modern computing power easier to access and utilize than ever, and we get....Angry Birds!!! So have any of you written applications or programs that provided some enhanced functionality to your life? Stuff that isn't done as easily by other means? Long story short, I'm getting burnt out trying to work through the tutorials for C++, when I still haven't answered the basic question "What the *&%$ am I going to do with it?"

I guess I am just a little disillusioned when I see what 14th century armorers could do with hammers and fire, and now, with modern computing power easier to access and utilize than ever

Honestly, I'm quite reluctant to even attempt to answer your question as the above statement makes it perfectly clear that you already have a significant bias on the subject to begin with.