What type of led driver can be used to control a common Cathode RGB LED matrix

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to using the RGB LED matrix and I am stuck trying to understand what type of LED drivers can be used to control this specific RGB LED matrix LED Matrix - Tri Color - Large - COM-00683 - SparkFun Electronics. My end goal here is to create my own common cathode led matrix controlled by small prototype PCB board, so the smaller the chip is , and/or the less number of chips needed the better.

What I currently have is arduino UNO board running with atmega328P to program the LED matrix with.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

-mfran89

Assuming the individual LEDs take 20 mA you will need a driver capable of sinking 20n3 mA where 'n' is the number of anodes per cathode. A transistor per cathode should do the trick. For the anodes you just need current limiting resistors.

How big a matrix are you making?

I don't think that's the right hardware solution.
What you need is 3 MAX7219. Each will have its Segment drivers connected to one color of anodes.
Each will need diodes between its digit drivers and the common cathodes.
Diode Anodes will connect to the matrix pins in parallel, and the cathode to the Digit pins.
This will take advantage of the MAX7219 shutdown mode:

"When the MAX7219 is in shutdown mode, the scan oscillator is halted, all segment current sources are pulled to
ground, and all digit drivers are pulled to V+, thereby blanking the display. "

Then write a sketch that alternately takes each one out of shutdown mode 1/3 of the time.
Control the 7219s with SPI, giving each its own slave select line for easier software creation.

Thanks guys for the feed back!

I am familiar with those MAX7219 , and I was wondering was there one led driver that could power an 8x8 RGB led matrix, or is my only option getting multiple MAX7219's?