I2C for longer distance LED light bar system

I am a veteran programmer and somewhat familiar with electronics. I have an Arduino Mega 2560 microprocessor. I am wanting to build an industrial application which will consist of 5 foot long “bars” each having 4 LEDs. I need the ability to daisy-chain these bars out from the microprocessor and control any combination of turning on/off the LEDs on each bar. I am considering using I2C with extender boards http://sjtbits.com/i2c-to-differential-breakout-board/ but need some serious help in understanding if this is a practical design. The LED “bars” will be about 8 feet apart and on my application there will be a total of 24 bars each having 4 LEDS. I am considering using CAT5 wiring and connectors to daisy-chain and hopefully carry enough voltage to drive the system. Thanks for any advise on how to build such a system.

Yes that looks a good way to go, it should work.
Not cheap though, looks like you need one on each end.

What power are your LEDs? Have you got the power side sorted out?

wmitc2375:
I am a veteran programmer and somewhat familiar with electronics. I have an Arduino Mega 2560 microprocessor. I am wanting to build an industrial application which will consist of 5 foot long “bars” each having 4 LEDs. I need the ability to daisy-chain these bars out from the microprocessor and control any combination of turning on/off the LEDs on each bar. I am considering using I2C with extender boards http://sjtbits.com/i2c-to-differential-breakout-board/ but need some serious help in understanding if this is a practical design. The LED “bars” will be about 8 feet apart and on my application there will be a total of 24 bars each having 4 LEDS. I am considering using CAT5 wiring and connectors to daisy-chain and hopefully carry enough voltage to drive the system. Thanks for any advise on how to build such a system.