HELP! I need somebody...

I am a relative novice at programming but am playing with an arduino Mega 2560 with the end goal of building a reprap mendelmax 3d printer. However, I am currently having difficulty with even even doing the most basic 'blink' function although I have followed the start-up guide.

Problem list:

1. The Tx and Rx leds, as far as i can tell never blink
  2. The 'L' led blinks even when i have pressed the reset button
  3. Everytime I try to upload anything it gives me the error message:

avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer

Things that may be of interest:
I am using a MackBook with OS 10.5.8
I have pulled the USB lead out during an operation and it came up with an error message warning against doing it again = there is some communication/recognition between the Arduino and the computer

Any help much obliged,
K

Try Coding Badly's Loop Back Test:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,73748.0.html

I have the same problem. I'm new to Ubuntu and i have successfully installed all necessary stuff for Arduino Mega 2560. but when i upload it, it shows uploading... and say "receivemessage() timeout"
i need a help from you guys
Thanks a lot

What happened when you tried the loop-back test and the troubleshooting guide?

Problem list:
Arduino 2560 times out during uploading of a script (even blink)

Progress:
Advice was given as above in forum posts and loop back test performed --> no echo using serial monitor
I've looked at the troubleshooting, tested jumpers, and changed USB cable twice - all didn't seem to help.
Have now just realised that this was produced in sketch...

java.io.IOException: Device not configured in writeArray

• at gnu.io.RXTXPort.writeArray(Native Method)*
  • at gnu.io.RXTXPort$SerialOutputStream.write(RXTXPort.java:1124)*
  • at processing.app.Serial.write(Serial.java:517)*