Go Down

Topic: Going forward with my prototype (Read 215 times) previous topic - next topic

MonyetIblis

Hi everyone,

I have been using this forum for a few months now as a guide to developing my prototype. It has been very helpful and I would like to thank all contributors out there.

The device that I have been working on is a little side project of mine which I intend to implement at a farm I work for.

It measures the soil moisture based on weight of a sample of pots containing plants. As the moisture evaporates and is consumed by the plants the weight decreases over time. Once the weight of the pots reaches a certain level, the arduino triggers a relay, which will close a circuit connected to our existing irrigation controller causing it to irrigate.

The device logs all the measurement data to an SD card, as well as uploads the data to a thingspeak channel through a SIM800 module.

So far so good. Everything seems to be working fine, and I am very happy with the result so far.

Up till now I have been testing the device in a small 'home' setup. I would like to implement it in one of our greenhouses at the farm, however I am a little concerned for bugs and the like that I may have missed in the sketch. Especially since scaling up my project means I am putting thousands of plants at risk. Also, since this is my very first time programming anything, I am sure my sketch is full of mistakes.

How do people usually go about improving their prototype code to an 'implementable' level? Are there people within the arduino community that offer 'code rewrite' services to eliminate potential bugs, make it run smoother, improve overall performance etc?

In general, once people have a working prototype, and want to go on to develop a more robust version (but don't have the knowledge to do it themselves), what options are there?

I hope to learn more about the general development process.