Switching Laser Module With Arduino

Hi all,

Im quite new to the laser topic (but not so new to electronics and arduino) and I'm looking for a possibility to switch a 100mW laser module on and off with arduino in something like a DIY laser cutter.

cr0sh wrote in another thread:

Basically, think of a laser module as a 3 volt DC motor; the interface (using a simple transistor/mosfet/darlington driver circuit) is the same, you could even easily hook up a small cheapo keychain laser from your local dollar store and run it this way.

Is this so easy? Or do I damage the laser when turning it on and off in this way often?

Does anyone know a diagram, showing circuits with lasers and arduino involved, so I can build it myself completly with a laser diode from an old dvd burner?

Thanks for some advice!
Christian

in something like a DIY laser cutter.

100mW would not work in a laser cutter. All it would do is burn/melt whatever you wanted to cut. I would say you would need at least 1W to do paper without burning it all, probably more than that.

Mowcius

Thanx for the reply.
There are many storys on the internet about cutting with 100mW or at least with DVD-burner Diodes. On ebay they sell laser modules with 260 mW explicitely for cutting (up to 0.8mm paper).
But maybe you're right and these are only stories. Anyway, I will give the thing a try.

The most important issue for me is turning the laser on and of. An I think, turning on and off the supply voltage is not the best way.

christian

These lasers are nothing more than slightly differently constructed LEDs, with collumnating lens assemblies, and special current-limiting drivers. If turning on and off the supply voltage killed them easily, they wouldn't be sold for use as laser pointers or other applications, because they would be virtually useless.

Now, if you were talking about tube lasers or other systems, that would be a different matter.